
I’ve been personally moved by the unfolding story of the Search for James Kim and his family.
I was even surprised how overjoyed I felt, when Kim and the kids were found alive and well. I’m usually a bit of a curmudgeon, but this truly was a miracle in my book.
I’ve also been AMAZED to see how the use of the internet has helped raise the awareness and support. I’m certain that it was the internet that led to satellites being re-routed in the search. Which is apparently going to cost the Satellite company a pretty penny. “We’re doing it because it’s the right thing to do,” they said. Thumbs up in my book.
Like everyone else, I’m eagerly awaiting the news of James Kim’s safe return to his family.
What I am NOT doing is figuring out how to make money off the news.
But I got a VERY bad taste in my mouth, when I stumbled across www.jamesandkatikim.com. (Warning – if you don’t have a popup blocker, prepare to be offered a Free Laptop!) It’s another domain squatter, who capitalizes on people’s bad spelling, when typing in URL’s in the browser.
The page doesn’t even FORWARD you to anything of use. What was this idiot thinking? Make a few bucks off of a tragedy? I love the quote at the top:”What you need, when you need it”. What a crock.
It was registered 12/5. The WHOIS registry lists:
Registrar: NAMEKING.COM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.nameking.com
Referral URL: http://www.nameking.comExpiration Date: 2007-12-05
Creation Date: 2006-12-05
Last Update Date: 2006-12-05Name Servers:
ns11.maltuzi.com
ns1.maltuzi.com
The REAL site is http://www.jamesandkati.com, and I think that everyone who has HELPED in the search and rescue efforts are heroes in my book.
As for NAMEKING.COM! You get my finger of shame!
UPDATE: I did a little digging. The website seems to be run by a company called information.com. I’m NOT Sure if Nameking.com is just the domain/register/ISP. The REAL owners of the site are clearly information.com.
For those so inclined, you can leave the company feedback here!